Musical company

The Acting Company will host a 50th anniversary gala this spring

Harriet Harris, Keith David, Roslyn Ruff and more are among the alumni who will take part in the event.

The Acting Company is set to celebrate half a century of its impact on American theater with its 50th anniversary gala on June 13 in the capital of New York.

The evening will include a 50th anniversary performance with notable alumni including Duane Boutté, Jimonn Cole, Keith David, Stephen DeRosa, Harriet Harris, Ezra Knight, JD Mollison, Mary Lou Rosato, Roslyn Ruff, Derek Smith and Henry Stram, with an introduction by Tony-winning director Jack O’Brien and under the direction of former art director Ian Belknap.

Peter Darrow, senior counsel with the law firm Cleary Gottlieb, Steen and Hamilton, will receive the Joan M. Warburg Civic Engagement Award for his dedication to philanthropic and civic causes in the arts and other fields. Darrow is currently Chairman of the Board of the CUNY Graduate Center Foundation, Vice Chairman of the Ronald O. Perelman Performing Arts Center at the World Trade Center, and a Trustee of BRIC Community Media in Brooklyn.

Past Warburg Prize winners include Harry Belafonte, Tom Viola, Abigail Disney, Gerald Schoenfeld, Phyllis Newman, Barbara Fleischman, The Honorable Thomas Kean, Barbaralee Diamonstein-Spielvogel and Ambassador Carl Spielvogel, among others.

The Acting Company was founded in 1972 and in 2003 received the Tony Award for Excellence in the Theatre. He launched the careers of nearly 500 actors and commissioned new works from early career writers and playwrights awarded by Tony and Pulitzer. The company’s annual school programs reach more than 30,000 students nationwide.

The Acting Company’s 2022-23 season of touring and New York will feature a world premiere adaptation by Alexandre Dumas The three Musketeers by Kirsten Childs under the direction of artistic director Kent Gash, and William Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet to the repertoire, directed by Leah C. Gardiner.