Musical producer

Oscars: Academy Welcomes New Governors Including Marlee Matlin, Horror Producer Jason Blum, Director Jason Reitman and Doc Maker Chris Hegedus

House Movies Oscars: the Academy welcomes new governors, including Marlee Matlin, horror producer Jason Blum,…

Here is the statement from the Academy. Great new names have been added to the list of governors or board members. Including those I posted in the title, Dion Beebe is one of the great filmmakers. And Megan Colligan is a public relations pioneer who rose to the top of the ranks at Paramount under the late Brad Gray. Chris Hegedus won the DGA Best Documentary Award in 2000 for “” and made dozens of films with her late husband, the legendary DA Pennebaker, including “The War Room.”

Congratulations to all !

Elected to the Board for the first time:

Marlee MatlinDirection of actors
Richard HicksCasting Directors Branch
Dion BeebeDirection of photography
Jason ReitmanDirectorate General of Directors
Chris HegedusDocumentary Department
Nancy RichardsonDirection of film editors
Megan ColliganMarketing and Public Relations Department
Jason BlumDirection of producers
Missy ParkerProduction design direction
Marlon WestDirection of short films and animated feature films
Peter Devlindirection of sound
Paul DebevecVisual Effects Director

Outgoing Governors re-elected to the Board:

Ruth E. CarterDirection of Costume Designers
Donna GigliottiExecutives Branch
Howard BergerManagement of make-up artists and hairdressers
Eric RothWriters’ Directorate

Back to the board after a break:

Charles FoxDirection of music

They will join the returning governors Pam Abdy, Kate Amend, Bonnie Arnold, Lesley Barber, Charles Bernstein, Susanne Bier, Jon Bloom, Gary C. Bourgeois, Rob Bredow, Brooke Breton, Paul Cameron, Eduardo Castro, Bill Corso, Teri E. Dorman, Tom Duffield, Ava DuVernay, Linda Flowers, DeVon Franklin, Rodrigo García, Whoopi Goldberg, Lynette Howell Taylor, Larry Karaszewski, Laura C. Kim, Christina Kounelias, David Linde, Isis Mussenden, Stephen Rivkin, Howard A. Rodman, Terilyn A. Shropshire, Kim Taylor -Coleman, Wynn P. Thomas, Jennifer Todd, Jean Tsien, Mandy Walker, Rita Wilson, Janet Yang and Debra Zane.

As a result of this election, the Council is comprised of 54% women and 28% from an underrepresented racial or ethnic group.

The 17 branches of the Academy are each represented by three governors, who can serve up to two three-year terms (consecutive or non-consecutive), followed by a two-year hiatus, after which eligibility is renewed for a maximum of two additional three-year terms. , for a maximum lifespan of 12 years. The Board of Directors establishes the Academy’s strategic vision, safeguards the financial health of the organization and ensures the achievement of its mission.


Roger Friedman started his Showbiz411 column in April 2009 after 10 years at Fox News, where he created the Fox411 column. His film reviews are carried by Rotten Tomatoes and he is a member of the film and television arms of the Critics Choice Awards. His articles have appeared in dozens of publications over the years, including New York Magazine, where he wrote the Intelligencer column in the mid-90s and covered the OJ Simpson trial, and Fox News (when it wasn’t). not so crazy) where he covered Michael Jackson. . He is also screenwriter and co-producer of “Only the Strong Survive”, a selection from the Cannes, Sundance and Telluride festivals, directed by DA Pennebaker and Chris Hegedus.