Musical brand

Kodaline announce brand new album ‘Our Roots Run Deep’ – recorded live at Dublin’s Olympia Theater

When Kodaline took the stage at Dublin’s cozy Olympia Theater in early March 2022, singer/multi-instrumentalist Steve Garrigan; bassist/vocalist, Jason Boland; guitarist/vocalist, Mark Prendergast; and drummer/vocalist Vinny May felt a deep sense of renewal, of their friendship, brotherhood and musical community.

The beloved Irish quartet also felt a sense of release. Two years of pandemic-related separation, from each other, and the audiences they had meticulously built since 2011, had underscored just how essential this symbiotic relationship truly is.

It’s that feeling of release that pervades Our Roots Run Deep, Kodaline’s brand new stripped-down 17-track live album and Fantasy Records debut album, due out October 14, 2022. Pre-order available HERE. Watch the live performance video of ‘Brother’ HERE.

Produced with pristine clarity by fellow Irish band Phillip Magee, Our Roots Run Deep features a selection of the band’s most treasured tracks and three illuminating covers in over 80 minutes of music.

“This album is something we’ve wanted to do for a very long time, it’s also something entirely new to us,” the band explains. “It’s a stripped-down, clickless acoustic show, which basically means it’s very raw and unfiltered. We wanted to try and capture the energy and atmosphere of the night as best we could. It was an intimate show recorded in one of our favorite venues in the world, in Dublin, at home in Ireland. We hope you enjoy it as much as we enjoyed playing it.

Known for her soaring, lilting pop-rock anthems and lush, nostalgic ballads that have topped radio and streaming charts around the world, for these special intimate performances Kodaline made extensive use of acoustic instruments, including the cellist David Doyle and keyboardist/vocalist David Prendergast. which help give the warm sound of the living room additional layers of texture and depth.

The quieter musical beds pushed the band’s emotional lyrics and intricately woven harmonies to the fore, deepening their poignant resonance even further. It also left room for the voices of their ecstatic fans, who filled in the open spaces whenever they could!

Although too plentiful to list in its entirety, highlights of the set include the very apt opener “Wherever You Are”, the lead track from their latest LP, 2020’s One Day At A Time, “High Hopes “, the first single from the band’s debut album. , 2013’s In A Perfect World and ‘Brother’, a moving cut from the band’s third studio album, Politics of Living, which is now released as the first track from Our Roots Run Deep.

The group also includes three interesting and revealing covers: a dark and dramatic twist on Michael Jackson’s “Billie Jean”, a mostly a cappella performance of Sam Cooke’s soul classic “Bring It On Home To Me”, and a pre- taste of “Dirty Old Town”, the almost Irish standard popularized by The Dubliners and The Pogues.

It’s safe to say that in some ways, the international chart-topping hitmakers and global concert draws, which are massively synced to film and television, have been hiding in plain sight.

Our Roots Run Deep is a spectacular showcase of the purity of their artistry and the profound musical impact they have had on a generation. Their next stop is around the corner, until then Kodaline – unattended, simple, essential.


Wherever you are
new day
Billie John
The one
Move on
The answer
dirty old town
love like this
love will set you free
high hopes
Bring it home to me
perfect world
Everything works out in the end
All that I want
Our Roots Run Deep will be released digitally and in a range of physical formats including CD / Standard Cream LP / Limited Indie & HMV Maroon LP / Irish Exclusive Green LP as well as special fan bundles available from including limited and exclusive double cassette signed prints.

Kodaline have announced an extensive Our Roots Run Deep European tour which will run from October to November 2022. Before that they will play a number of shows this month with Malahide Castle (June 17), Sea Sessions in Donegal, Ireland on June 18 and Lytham Fête on June 30. Full dates are listed below and tickets are on sale now at


17 Dublin – Malahide Castle

18 Donegal – Sessions at sea

30 Lancashire – Lytham Festival



05 Strasbourg – The Dairy

06 Brussels – Former Belgium

07 Tilburg – 013

08 Cologne – Carlswerk Victoria

10 Hamburg – Fabrik

12 Stockholm – Slaktkyrkan

13 Oslo-Rockefeller

14 Copenhagen – Vega Main Hall

15 Berlin–Astra

17 Poznan – Tama

18 Warsaw – Stodola

19 Vienna – Gasometer

20 Krakow – Studio

22 Budapest – Akvarium Club

24 Prague-Forum

25 Munich – Tonhalle

26 Frankfurt – Batschkapp


11 Madrid – French Riviera

13 Milan – Factory

14 Bologna – Tarragon

15 Rome-Orion

17 Lyon – The Transporter

18 Stuttgart-Longhorn

19 Luxembourg – Den Atelier

20 Zürich – X-Tra

22 Paris-Bataclan

23 Amsterdam – Paradiso