Musical brand

D_DRIVE – Announces Release of Brand New Album ‘Dynamotive’ New Single ‘I Remember The Town’ – Metal Planet Music

Japanese instrumentalists D_DRIVE announce their brand new album ‘Dynamotive’. The disc, which will be released via Marshall Records on August 26e is the culmination of many years of work for these fantastic players.

Along with the new album announcement comes a brand new single “I Remember The Town”. The track allows for a memorable hook to ensnare the listener without sacrificing any of the band’s rhythmic prowess. Very well acting as their own G3 show, D_DRIVE’s musical talents have to be seen to be believed.

Regarding the release of the new single, the band had this to say:

The theme of this song is reminiscent of the town where Seiji grew up. Explains guitarist Yuki. “Not only Seiji, but the other band members all channeled their nostalgic memories into creating this song. “The harmony section in the middle of the song was difficult to master and required a lot of concentration when following it.”

The record as a whole strays from the sounds that fans of Steve Vai, Joe Satriani and John Petrucci would be comfortable with, but retains a grounded metallic groove that keeps the Metal gauge well-filled.

The level of inspiration varies throughout ‘Dynamotive’. The opening track ‘Red Light, Green Light’ for example is a musical ‘Grandmother’s Footsteps’ inspired by the hit TV series ‘Squid Game’.

On ‘Dynamotive’, the duality of life is explored with songs dedicated to the World Trade Center tragedy of 2001, the pandemic and its strangulation on the beautiful flowering population of the rarely known Ume tree (meaning plum in Japanese), D_DRIVE have a relatability that often exceeds the need for words.

Further inspiration came from the members’ own experiences which include Yuki’s own budgies ‘Lemon’ and ‘Rum’ on ‘Wings’ or even a single ‘Thumbs Up’ which would be given to the group by Marshall General Manager Jon Ellery and it’s their humble way of honoring Jon.

Listen HERE

D_DRIVE ‘Dynamotive’ – Album Artwork by Shoji Umemura


01 – Red light, green light
02 – Start over
03 – I remember the city
04 – Escape
05 – Be yourself
06 – Runaway Boy
07 – Thumbs up
08 – Wings
09 – U_Me
10 – Escape

D_DRIVE bring their unique blend of instrumental rock and mix elements of metal, jazz and progressive music to create their own brand of “Driving Rock”. With Seiji and Yuki on guitar, Toshi on bass and Chiiko on drums, the combination of jaw-dropping guitar and fireball rhythm section entertained audiences all over Japan and around the world, including including performances in the UK, USA and China.

The band’s international debut album, “Maximum Impact”, was released by Marshall Records in 2019, coinciding with a trip to the UK that included performances at Marshall Live Festival and Camden Rocks Festival. Followed by singles ‘Thumbs Up’ and ‘Begin Again’ in 2020 sequel D_DRIVEincluding Yuki being featured in Alternative Press’ “Women of Metal Who Don’t Need a Microphone to Take Center Stage”.

D_DRIVE are:

Seiji – Guitar
Toshi – Bass Guitar
Chiiko – Drums