Musical staff

Celebrating outstanding faculty, staff, and students at UH Mānoa

Rainbow on the uh Campus Manoa.

The University of Hawaii at Mānoa will honor its top faculty, staff and students with various teaching, research and service awards at its first in-person Mānoa Awards ceremony since 2019.

The 2022 uh The Mānoa Awards Ceremony will take place on Monday, May 2 at 3:30 p.m. at the Kennedy Theater.

President David Lasner and provost Michael Bruno will honor the 2020, 2021 and 2022 winners and celebrate the achievements of these individuals. A live video feed of the event will be available.

During the ceremony, there will also be a special recognition of the uh COVID-19 Health and Wellness Task Force and Reinhold Penner of uh Cancer Center for their COVID-19 campus efforts.

Learn more about uh News about our 2020 and 2021 uh Manoa Prize Winners.

2022 uh Manoa Award Winners

Board of Regents Medal for Excellence in Teaching

  • Troy JH Andradeassociate professor, law
  • Daniel Harris McCoyAssociate Professor, Classics
  • Peiling Kaoassociate professor, theater and dance
  • Kyra Anne Lenassociate professor, pediatrics
  • Bridget Smith KonterProfessor, Earth Sciences
  • Wei Zhangprofessor, sociology

Board of Regents Medal for Excellence in Research

  • Brian PopProfessor, Earth Sciences
  • Rui Sunassistant professor, chemistry
  • Sun Xudongassistant astronomer, astronomy

Frances Davis Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

  • Justin W. Walguarneryassistant professor, biology

Frances Davis Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching (Graduate Assistant)

  • Hoa LeCertified Teacher’s Assistant, Second Language Studies

Robert W. Clopton Award for Distinguished Community Service

  • Denise Antoliniprofessor, law

Presidential Citation for Meritorious Teaching

  • Jennifer BlackwellAssistant Professor, Music
  • Marguerite A. Butlerteacher, biology
  • Stephanie FurutaAssociate Specialist, Institute for Teacher Education
  • Scott Lozanoffprofessor, anatomy, biochemistry and physiology
  • Seungoh Paekassociate professor, design and technology learning
  • Philip Williamsprofessor and chair, chemistry

Presidential Award for Outstanding Service

  • Herman AyersJanitor, Buildings and Grounds Management
  • Kenton Harschdirector/BA Coordinator, English Language Institute
  • Tyler KitagawaJanitor, Buildings and Grounds Management
  • Steven Labrashassistant specialist, anatomy, biochemistry and physiology

Dr. Amefil “Amy” Agbayani Faculty Diversity Enhancement Award

  • E. Brooke Chapman de SousaAssociate Professor, Teacher Training Institute

Peter V. Garrod Distinguished Mentorship Award for Graduates

  • Henrietta DulaiProfessor, Earth Sciences

Academic Advisor of the Year Award

  • Jill NakatsuDirector of Student Services, College of Engineering

Faculty Award for Excellence in Mentorship in Undergraduate Research and Creative Work

  • Tyler Rayassistant professor, mechanical engineering
  • Stephanie TevesAssistant Professor/Undergraduate Advisor, Department of Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Student Research Excellence Scholarship

  • Ashley Chontos, PhD candidate, astronomy
  • Samantha Keaulana-Scott, PhD candidate, public health
  • Geetika Patwardhanbaccalaureate candidate, molecular and cellular biology

Student Employee of the Year

  • Herman H. Lau, student assistant, general education department

See the awards page for a full list of winner biographies.